Well That Didn’t Take Long

Not even 24 hours into 2014 and I already have to make some fairly major modifications to my New Years Resolutions.

Seriously?

Yes, seriously.

Sometimes life decides to throw you a curveball when you’re not expecting it.

For example, this happened on Christmas Eve:

IMG_1593

Which means I need to modify some of my more aggressive savings goals as I am now saving for half of a wedding.

:D

I’ve been itching to tell you guys since we told our families, but I had to wait a) because I felt it would be rude to fire up my laptop while we were at his grandparents house and b) there were some other people we wanted to tell at home in person first. There’s still a couple people we need to tell, but I got the thumbs up to put it on my blog since I’m pretty sure they don’t read it.

Anyway, I’m going to have to modify my 2014 goals shortly. I’m open to suggestions.

I’m going to go continue doing my little happy dance now.

!!!!!

:D

50 thoughts on “Well That Didn’t Take Long

  1. YAYYAYAYAYAYAYA

    Firstly, what beautiful slender finger. And what a lovely ring. YAY FOR YOU! It’s that time of year, though I seemed to have more friend reveal babies in sonograms on Facebook, than rings, so there you go!

    Part of me thinks some of this years savings goals will one day morph into a wedding fund, but we’re a way away from an engagement I think (though I did think *maybe* when we went away for a night whilst away at his parents). Truth be told, I did mention to him a few weeks ago I wasn’t feeling ready. Do you feel ready? Are there any jitters, or concerns? Just thought I’d ask, seeing I know I umm and ahh about these big things.

    Congratulations! What a wonderful Christmas sparkle you have!

    • Thanks Sarah :) I know what you mean about the sonograms, my Facebook is usually full of them. I’m absolutely thrilled with his choice of ring! I had no input and no advance notice about it :)

      Yes, I am more than ready. There are no major concerns on my end. The only jitters I’m having are just excitement at the fact that it actually happened. Christmas Eve and Christmas were kind of a blur, and I’ve been pretty busy since then. This year is going to be so busy between combining households, selling my house, going to my sister’s wedding and planning our wedding that my head is kind of spinning.

      Thank you again!

      • It’s good to hear you’re ready – to be honest, I’m sure it’s not just me that’s not yet ready, but we have combined households already.

        It is just such a nice ring – there’s a lot out there that aren’t my taste. High five for him choosing it without your input! I have to very obtusely look at rings, but thankfully Tiffany’s posters are everywhere (ie Bus stop billboards) so it’s easy enough hahaha

        I look forward to hearing about your wedding plans!

      • I wish there was a way to capture the way it sparkles with my cell phone, but I haven’t been able to yet. He researched diamonds and settings for months before settling on this one. It’s almost identical to ones I was pinning on a secret pinterest boards that he couldn’t see (much to his chagrin).

        I’ll make sure I keep you informed :)

  2. Woo!!! I love your attitude that you set a bunch of goals for 2014 and now you’re changing them because plans changed – for the better! Are you going to move into his house when you sell yours?

    • Thanks Alicia! We haven’t been able to see one set of his friends because they had a baby the day after we got back from Christmas holidays. It will go on FB after we have a chance to see them.

  3. Congratulations, Cassie! It’s great when plans change in a good way! The first thing I thought when I read your post was, hmm, they have 2 houses to deal with! I wish you luck with the wedding, the house merging and of course, the most important, your marriage :)

    • Thank you :) Yeah, we’re already trying to figure out how to merge homes. We’ll be selling my place to start, but his place is already full of stuff! There’s definitely going to be some paring down before I move in.

    • Thank you Sara! I was actually thinking the same thing about my ring, because it’s far more sparkly in real life. Someone needs to do a tutorial on capturing rings properly with camera phones!

    • Thanks Asia :) I’m actually a little surprised by how many people comment on my hands, it’s not something I’ve ever really paid attention to before. I’ve been trying to take better care of them now that people are looking at them though!

  4. Pingback: The Wedding Mood Board – So Far | Tales from the Trenches

Leave a Reply

