11 thoughts on “Looking to 2014

  1. Those are some well thought out goals Miss :) It would be quite an accomplishment if you can reach $180K by this time next year but I think it’s possible :D If there’s a bull market in commodities the TSX could see stellar gains next year.

    Setting new year resolutions is a great way to measure our progress. It’s like making a budget and tracking our spending. Sure, we may not hit our set targets, but the simple act of tracking what we do can improve our sense of personal responsibility. If our 2014 goals end up being overly enthusiastic we can just set more realistic goals for 2015 ;) At least we’ll have a benchmark. Last year I wrote down the goal for myself to “hit the gym in 2013.” Luckily I still have a couple more weeks to cross this off my list :D Best of luck with all your new goals.

    • Well, I came just shy of $121k this year, so we’ll see what I can make happen next year! $180k is absolutely aggressive, but aiming long and missing it by a bit is still better than aiming short.

      I hope you managed to hit the gym in time ;)

  2. BAM! Check out these goals. I knew about most of the financial ones, but I absolutely love your personal well-being goals too. I think, like Bridget’s post sort of says, people often feel the need to come up w/ outrageously large goals, because they feel like they should. But SMART goals are much more motivating, because they are actually within your reach. When you get to the end of 2014 and see that you’ve crossed off most, if not all, of them, you’ll feel so good. Good luck!

  3. These are awesome goals! You can tell you put a lot of thought into them and the stretch goals are absolutely perfect to keep things realistic and still ambitious. Good luck, Cassie!

  4. Great goals! I definitely agreed with many of the things that Bridget said, but I think goal-setting (especially with the SMART system) can be very beneficial. My finances are an area I find a bit harder to progress with compared to other areas, so I am trying something new and setting goals. And I’ve already put them in place.

    Can’t wait to see your progress :)

    • I actually find I’m the opposite. I find it easier to make financial progress, but difficult to make personal well being progress. Maybe it’s just because I’m more of a numbers person? I find if I get too detailed on my personal goals it can turn borderline obsessive, which kind of defeats the purpose. Hopefully I can find a way to hit that nice healthy balance this year.

  5. Those are some ambitious goals – more power to you. The one thing you may want to think about is making your workout goal a bit more specific – it’s probably the only one that’s way to general, therefore likely to be missed. Instead of “work out 2 hrs per week” how about work out at least 30 min on Tues, Thurs, Sat and Sun, or whatever your schedule is. If you don’t make it part of your schedule, then it will happen tomorrow, but tomorrow you’re tired, then the weather wasn’t good the next day, then someone called and said let’s meet for coffee….etc. If you figure out a system/schedule that works for you and make that part of your weekly routine, then there’s no thought about when, you just go to your workout like it was work, or any other appointment you have to keep.

    And remember, without your health, all those financial goals won’t really be important, so start investing now…just like money. Take care, healthy, happy and prosperous 2014 to you. Chris

    • I find the “Let’s meet for coffee” is the one that derails me the most. I do need to keep it a little bit flexible because my work shifts flip around a bit, but I do see what you’re saying. I have to modify my goals again shortly, so I’ll see if I can work your suggestion in. All the best in 2014 to you too.

  6. I have an app called SleepBot on my Android phone and use it to track my sleep every night. I just punch in/out and it even puts my phone on silent until I wake up :) I love the alarm functionality too way more than the system alarm app. Using the app really helped to remind me when I wasn’t getting enough sleep and you can also make it nag you to go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

