Christmas Wish List 2013

I’m going to preface this by noting that I do not, under any circumstances, expect to receive everything I put on a wish list.

Ever.

I put together long wish lists for two simple reasons:

1) Few things are as frustrating as having eight people trying to buy gifts for a person who has only mentioned three things. The first three people heading to the mall have it easy, and then the last five are left either scratching their heads or panicking. That’s just plain old mean.

2) That way I never actually know what’s under the tree, so I’m always surprised.

I know how much my boyfriend and family LOOOOOOVE spending time in the mall, so I changed up my wish list format this year. Instead of writing/typing it out and e-mailing it to people when they ask, I used social media: Pinterest. I created a board specifically for Christmas, and any time I thought of something I would like I would pin it there along with specifics such as size and colour. If someone asks me what I would like, I send them the link. Now instead of fighting the crowds at the mall, all they have to do is click on the picture and it will take them to the retail site. Easy peasy.

These are some of the things I’m pinning to my board:

Tea and Fancy Drink Supplies

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.16.21 PM

I drink a lot of hot beverages. A lot. I’m a major tea fiend, and my Starbucks purchases as of late have been embarrassing. Having a solid stash of tea varieties and odds and ends for making my own coffees at home would be nice.

Small Kitchen Appliances

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.08.45 PM

Surprisingly enough, my array of small kitchen appliances is reasonably small. I have an immersion blender, a tiny food processor (just large enough to make half a can of chickpeas into hummus), and a stand mixer. I’m eyeing up a coffee grinder to use with my french press, a larger processor so I can do things like grind oatmeal or nuts into flour, and attachments like a meat grinder for my stand mixer.

Books

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.24.47 PM

I think this one is pretty self explanatory….

Wall Art

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.28.26 PM

Despite the brakes that were put on my renos once the snow started flying, I’m pretty content overall with how the house is starting to come together. I have a lot of blank wall space though, so some wall art would be nice to help me start tackling that.

I know I owe you guys pictures. Just to forewarn you, I still have a table saw where my table should be.

Baking Supplies

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.34.22 PM

I have more casserole dishes than baking dishes by a fair margin. The baking pans I do have warped in the oven sadly, and I’m actually missing some fairly basic pieces (like cake pans). I’d like to start picking up good baking dishes one at a time, but they also make good Christmas list additions. Instead of getting teflon coated pans I’m going to start buying aluminum ones.

Home Decor

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.41.53 PMCandles. Throw blankets. Bud vases. A water pitcher and glass for beside the bed. Fabric for sewing into a cushion cover. All items to spruce up my house and make it feel more like a home. The candle is a scent called French Cade Lavender that I’m in love with. The blanket is the iconic Hudson’s Bay pattern that has been around longer than Canada has officially been a country.

Despite seeing them everywhere in recent years, I couldn’t find an old school alarm clock when I was looking for one recently. IKEA has an inexpensive version, but I haven’t been down to their store for a little while. Instead of going myself, I tacked it on the wish list for the time being as well.

Clothes

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.05.14 PM

There was a point in time in recent years where my entire wish list would be comprised of clothing and accessories. Not so much anymore. I’ve been whittling my wardrobe down, and despite the smaller size it’s become considerably more functional. Some of the items on my wish list fill gaps in my wardrobe, while others are intentional style multiples. Rather than dressing for the image in my head, I’m focusing on building a wardrobe that works for the life I actually live. I may occasionally rock a dress with a blow out, but my day to day life is jeans, fitted zippered sweatshirts/fleeces and a ponytail. Many a fashionista may be cringing at that, but why fight it if it works for me?

Personal Care

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 9.10.30 PM

Pretties and smellies. Really, the basics of personal care (shampoo, soap, etc…) are already looked after, so anything in the personal care category is purely luxury.

Group Option

f8e285be76e28d2c94477b355230ff42

Our family periodically does group gifts. Dad’s gift this year is a group gift (obviously can’t tell you what it is just yet). His 50th birthday was also a group gift: the family all chipped in together and bought him a welder. Except me, I got him the insulated welding coveralls to wear when he’s using it. Every so often I’ll include something larger in case people want to go that route, so this year I’m putting a set of French language CDs on the list.

What is on your Christmas Wish List this year? Do your gifts fall under different categories?

Recommended Reading: A Lifetime of Financial Advice in Your Wallet

18 thoughts on “Christmas Wish List 2013

  1. Great list! I just asked for cash this year (easy to transport back on the plane!) but there is definitely some awesome stuff on here :). I would love those boots or the Fresh Sugar kit!

    • Fortunately we’re travelling via pick up truck, so we have a little more room to work with. The boots have been on my wishlist for 2 years now. If I don’t receive them for Christmas, I’ll be picking myself up a pair for spring this year!

  2. Wow, now I feel like I need to beef up my list! Sadly my parents bought me something prior to the list being published – how’s that for organised (and scary!) I love the teal top – I almost never ask for clothes, seeing I’m so picky. I loved the homewares, I’d secretly like another scented candle (I bought myself one last year in the post Xmas sales), but I know the smells are full of bad stuff… I’m right for baking stuff and art – I was surprised that all your art was ‘writing’. I don’t ask for books as I’m such a library fiend. I love books stores to add titles to my library list. Speaking of, they STILL haven’t got YHL’s book, and I’m not sure I’ve even seen it in stores here. I should follow that up. I’m a daily reader of their blog.

    • No need to beef up your list. If it works for you, don’t mess with it! The teal top was really comfy when I tried it on. I never ask for clothing without trying it on first. It’s so hard to find clothes that fit well trying them on myself, I could only imaging how much more difficult it would be for family members. I am gravitating towards text for art, but I’m not opposed to pictures. I just find I don’t click with pictures as often.

  3. Thank you very much for linking to my ‘lifetime of financial advice’ article — that was really nice of you! I’m glad you enjoyed it — that was definitely one of my favorite articles.

    Can’t wait to check out your site more thoroughly…

  4. Great list! I made a cute little list/graphic that’ll go up next Wednesday, but now I wish I could post it today, haha. I haven’t asked for much this year, and would be happy with even one of the items on my wish list. I hope you get some of yours. ;)

    • It’s true, they’re definitely not the cheapest teas out there. That being said, when you look at the cost per 100g, the prices end up being the same as the mid range teas from David’s Tea. That and the tins are pretty useful. My empty tins currently hold tea bags in similar flavours, the chalk for my chalkboard wall, and some odds and ends at work.

    • I understand completely! If you wear tights on a regular basis they would be one of the first things you’d need to be replace on a no shopping challenge. The socks I listed aren’t cheap, but they’re the biggest lifesavers for my feet. I’ll be picking up more pairs next summer for running.

  5. Pingback: Rosetta Stone – A Popular Christmas Wish list Item | Rosetta Stone® Blog

Leave a Reply

